What is Reckless Driving?
In Virginia, reckless driving is considered a serious criminal offense. As a class 1 misdemeanor, a conviction of this type will leave you with a permanent criminal record. The penalties for reckless driving speeding in Virginia can include:
- Court costs and fines up to $2500;
- Time in jail;
- A suspension of your driver’s license; and
- A significant increase in your insurance rates.
Additionally, having a criminal misdemeanor can cost you your job and make it difficult to find another good one. For these reasons, you may want to hire a reckless driving attorney.
Why Tarris Law?
We handle hundreds of Reckless Driving cases each year all over I-81 and I-64. Each of these jurisdictions treat Reckless Driving offenses a little bit differently and we have the experience to get you the best results and the lowest penalties in each one. Often times we are even able to get your appearance waived if you contact us soon enough! Our number is 540-319-4111.
During your FREE phone consultation, we will discuss your case and what you need to do to get the best result.
We have even added some additional information below for your convenience.
What is Considered Reckless Driving in Virginia
The Virginia definition of reckless driving includes failing to maintain control of a vehicle, such as having an accident, driving in a way that endangers others, or as a strict liability, such as driving more than 20 mph over the speed limit, driving faster than 80 mph total and passing a stopped school bus.
Penalties for Reckless Driving in Virginia
Points on your License
Possible Driver’s License Suspension or Jail Time
Side Effects of a Reckless Driving Charge
There are many other side effects of a conviction. It can also show up as a criminal misdemeanor on a background check, which can make it difficult to find a job and will add negative points to your DMV driving record which can cause insurance rates to skyrocket.
Out of State Drivers
A Virginia offense can hurt out-of-state drivers as well. Depending on your speed and the jurisdiction you may have to show up to your hearing or have an attorney appear in your place. You should check your summons to see if you need to come to court because if you do not show up there may be a capias issued for your arrest. Further, some states may impose other penalties based on a Virginia offense, such as an administrative license suspension
How to Defend a Reckless Driving Charge in Virginia
First, you should speak to an attorney about the facts of your case and how a particular court treats those kinds of reckless driving cases. Based on the facts in your case they may recommend strategies such as performing community service, taking a driver improvement course, and getting a continuance.
You should also speak to your lawyer about mechanical issues of your vehicle and how to properly document them such as a faulty speedometer or cruise control.
How to Appeal a Reckless Driving Charge in Virginia
In Virginia, you have 10 days to appeal a reckless driving conviction after the original trial date. You or your attorney will need to file the proper paperwork and set a new hearing in the Circuit Court. Speak with your attorney about the jurisdiction as some Circuit Courts are prone to even stricter punishments. Also, be aware that you now know what evidence the prosecution has and they know what evidence you have. A reckless driving lawyer can help you strategize effectively when preparing for the second hearing.
Our Service Areas
We cover the following jurisdictions and more: Lexington, Rockbridge, Buena Vista, Rockingham, Harrisonburg, Augusta, Alleghany, Staunton, Waynesboro, Amherst, Botetourt, Albemarle, Charlottesville, Lynchburg, Campbell, Roanoke & Salem, as well as other jurisdictions along I-81 and I-64.
If you need help with a reckless driving charge please contact our office at 540-319-4111 or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org so we can get started on your case!